Andrés Rubiano, Ph.D.

In Spring 2018, Andrés successfully defended his thesis, “Experimental Methods for Characterization of Soft Matter and Applications in Pancreatic Cancer.” Outside the lab, Andrés taught Mechanics of Materials and was a standout teaching assistant for several semesters.

Andrés has been a Researcher in the Division of Applied Regulatory Science at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the D.C. area since July 2018.

Nicolas Calvo, M.S. – Nick graduated in 2016 and is currently a Senior Mechanical Engineer at Beckman Coulter Life Sciences in Miami.

Jiapu Liang, M.S. – Jiapu finished his masters in the Simmons lab and is now a PhD student in the Stabler Lab at UF.

Abigail de la Peña, M.S. – Abby finished her masters in 2018 and now works at Brammer Bio in Alachua.

Ryosuke Yokosawa, M.S. – Ryosuke worked in the lab on cell mechanics projects in collaboration with Dr. Sarah Glover’s lab in Gastrointestinal Medicine. He is now working at the Japan Agency for Medical R&D in Washington, DC.

Former Undergrad Researchers:

Tony Yin (MAE, 2017-18), Taylor Repetto (MSE, 2017-18), D. Walker Dietrich (MAE, 2016-18), ​Wisam Fares (BME, 2016-2018 – USP Awardee), J. Wesley Garrett (BME, 2016-2018), Justin Sandler (MAE, 2016-2018), Carly Galitz (Mathematics, 2016-17), Nicholas Bell (MAE, 2017), Daniel Fuenmayor (BME, 2016-17), Maria Flores (MSE, 2015-17), David Mkoji (EE, 2016 – USP Awardee), Santiago Carrasquilla (BME, 2014-2016, Science for Life Awardee, Current Carnegie Mellon PhD), Austin Jacobs (Mathematics, 2015), David Leibowitz (MAE, 2015-2016), Alexie Nilo (MAE, 2016), Brandey Andersen (ABE, 2014), Frank Rutherford (MAE, 2015), Charlie Heinke (BME, 2015), Franky Liang (2015), Yifeng Chen (EE, Purdue University, 2013-2014), Ian Rivera (MAE, 2013-2014), Kayla McCarty (MechE, Rice, 2014), Juan Renteria (MAE, 2014), Rashid Alrashid (MSE, 2014), Jonathan Batista (ChemE, 2014), Emily Huber (MAE, 2014), Gil Lobaton (Applied Physiology and Kinesiology, 2013-14)

Former Teachers and HS Students:

Erica Marsh (Teacher, Atlanta GA, 2018), Ashley Whitehead (Teacher, Littlewood Elementary, 2017), Jan Seebeck (Teacher, Littlewood Elementary, 2017), Cosette MacLaren (PK Yonge School, 2016-17), Andrea Wright (PK Yonge School, 2016-17), Codi Elliot (Sarasota High, 2016-17), Luke Ettinger (PK Yonge School, 2016), ​Emily Griffis (Eastside High School, 2016), Sanika Subash (Buchholz High School, 2015), Lev Ettinger (Gainesville High School, 2015)