Lab Director


Lawrence Ukeiley

Larry is currently a Professor in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department at the University of Florida. His primary research interests are in experimental fluid dynamics and turbulence as related to flow control, aeroacoustics, fluid structure interactions and the development of low order models. He received his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Alfred University in 1989 and his MS and PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Clarkson University in 1992 and 1996 respectively. Since graduating with his doctorate he has held positions at BEAM Technologies (Research Scientist), NASA Langley Research Center (NRC Post Doctoral Associate) and the Jamie Whitten National Center for Physical Acoustics at the University of Mississippi (Research Scientist and Research Assistant Professor) before joining the faculty at UF. Dr. Ukeiley is an active member in many professional society and has served on the Technical Committees in both the AIAA and ASME. He has also served as the Co-Chair and Treasurer of the Northwest Florida local section of AIAA. 





Current Graduate Students



Surabhi Singh

Control of Supersonic Cavity Flow

PhD Expected Spring 2021




Songqi Li

Examination of noise sources in the hydrodynamic pressure field of a subsonic jet

PhD Expected Spring 2021



James Goldschmidt 

Noise from rotorcraft systems associated with Urban Air Vehicles

PhD Expected Spring 2023



Current Undergraduate Students

  • Bradley Loss
  • Patrick Hess
  • Charles Galluscio



Graduate Student Alumni


Undergraduate Student Alumni

  • Eric Matz
  • Andrew Hull
  • Josiah Badiali
  • Erick Morales
  • Phenpitcha Kijnijchee
  • Jason Keeler
  • Charles Pett
  • Arthur Javandi
  • Tyler Noel
  • John Levenhagen
  • Andres Brenes
  • Stephen Bethel
  • Zhizian Chen (Summer 2015)
  • Rapheal Perez (Fall 2014)
  • Scott Demming (Summer 2014)
  • Peter Gonzalez (Summer 2014)
  • Mitchell Morelock (Summer 2014)
  • Josh Achiam (Fall 2012)
  • Kyle Scott (Summer 2010)
  • Reed White (Summer 2010)
  • Haley Renn (Summer 2011)
  • Anna Woods (Summer 2011)